Can anyone explain labelling in simple terms?

I’ve been reading as much as I can about Prolog, and keep seeing mentions of labelling as a way of improving your code. However, I can’t find a decent explanation of what it actually does.

For example, two excellent statckoverflow answers I saw (this one and this one) show examples of adding labelling to code to help find solutions, but neither of them explain what it’s actually doing.

The SWI-Prolog docs have the same issue. I’m sure it’s clear to the experts, but as a beginner, I can’t make head or tail of it.

Anyone able to explain? Thanks

1 Like

Do you have access to ChatGPT? Is so try this prompt.

For Prolog with constraints what does labeling do?

If you think the answer is good, post the completion here for others. :slightly_smiling_face:

The completion ChatGPT gave me (click triangle to expand)

In Prolog with constraints, labeling is a process that finds solutions for a constraint satisfaction problem by systematically exploring the search space.

Labeling is a built-in predicate in many Prolog systems that takes a list of variables as input and assigns values to them one at a time, in a depth-first manner. It starts with the leftmost variable and assigns the first value that satisfies all the constraints in the current context. It then moves on to the next variable and repeats the process until all variables have been assigned values. If at any point a variable cannot be assigned a value that satisfies the constraints, labeling backtracks to the previous variable and tries a different value.

The process of labeling is used in Prolog with constraints to find solutions to constraint satisfaction problems such as scheduling, planning, and optimization. By assigning values to variables in a systematic way, labeling explores the search space efficiently and finds solutions that satisfy all the constraints in the problem.