How to express the idea that a fact is "wrong"?

Hello everyone,

I’m a complete beginner in the domain of logic programming, so probably my question will sound weird for experts. However, I’m interested in how this idea would be expressed in idiomatic Prolog.

Let’s assume, I define some facts like:

f(a, b).
f(a, c).
f(a, d).
f(a, e).

If I get the semantic model of Prolog right, facts are true by their very definition. Now let’s assume, I want to model some situation, where the combinations (a, d) or (a, e) are not allowed, since, for whatever reason, only a and b / a and c are compatible. How can I find out, that f(a, d) and f(a, e) are stated erroneously?

Coming mainly from statically typed functional languages, I’m probably too much thinking about value range limitations strictly enforced by types to find an idiomatic solution in Prolog. Or probably the idea of “wrong facts” cannot be expressed in Prolog?

Thanks very much in advance for any hints!

Kind regards,

Thomas

1 Like

In Prolog, the absence of a fact makes it false. So, adding this to your list wouldn’t make change:

f(a,d) :- false. % Effectively a no-op because f(a,d) is already asserted.
f(a,e) :- false. % Same, for f(a,e).

(Well, you could do something with “cut” and ordering the “false” rules first. But that’s very hack-y and error-prone.)

You could add some other validation code, such as:

valid_facts :-
    \+ f(a,d),
    \+ f(a,e).

Beyond this, you’re in the world of non-monotonic logics, which are interesting but not trivial.

First, facts are never taken to be wrong.

However the solution to your problem lies in your own description,

I want to model some situation

So you create a model and don’t let the system direct access to the facts. Instead use the model to query the information.

In this case you just need to add some predicates like

compatible(f(a,b),f(a,c)).

and query like this

?- compatible(f(a,b),f(a,c)).
true.

?- compatible(f(a,d),f(a,e)).
false.