How to notify prolog when an XPCE window/frame is closed

hello !

i am new to XPCE and could not find the answer to the following problem in docs.
i can create an xpce window and draw things on it, attach mouse event handlers, etc.
however, i would like XPCE to send a message to @prolog when the window is closed either when i send free to it or the user closes it “by hand”.
i suspect it would be along the lines of:
send(@mywindow, recogniser, on_free(message(@prolog, window_closed))).
but of course, “on_free” is not known by XPCE.
in general how can i “capture” XPCE events and notify prolog about it ?
besides the “on_free” event, it would be nice to know when the position/size of the window changes as a result of the user moving the window around on the screen.

(using SWI-Prolog version 7.4.2)

thanks for your help,
-attoparsec-

xpce is a bit old school, so I don’t know how wise it is to invest a lot of time on it. On the other hand, it is likely to stay part of SWI-Prolog for a long time because most of its tools are written in it.

You can trap the user hitting the close window button using frame->done_message. If you generally want to depend on something being destroyed you must subclass the class your are interested in and redefine the ->unlink method (do not forget to call the method of the super class).

Another option is to create an instance of a subclass of class hyper and redefine its ->unlink_to or ->unlink_from methods to get a trap either side of the hyper is being destroyed.

As said, xpce is old. Most of its terminology is currently no longer practiced and may look awkward now :frowning: But then, you run SWI-Prolog 7.4 while we are at 9.1 :slight_smile:

thanks jan for your timely answer.

i have tried it and works well :
send(WndID, done_message, message(@prolog, on_window_close, WndID)),

i will experiment a bit with sublcassing as well.

what would you suggest instead of XPCE for a graphical interface ?