I know this is not a good question but

How do I replace all appearances of X from a list with X+1 ? I’m very new to this.

Like this:

repl([], []).
repl([X|Xs], [Y|Ys]) :-
    Y is X+1,   
    repl(Xs, Ys).
% Run a Goal and print it.
test(Goal) :-
    Goal,
    writeq(Goal), nl.

% Version 1

plus_list(L0, L) :- maplist(plus1, L0, L).

plus1(X, Y) :- Y is X + 1.

?- test( plus_list([1,2,3], _Result) ).

% Version 2 (generalized to add "N" to each element)

plus_list(N, L0, L) :- maplist(plus(N), L0, L).

plus(N, X, Y) :- Y is X + N.

?- test( plus_list(2, [1,2,3], _Result) ).

% Version 3 (using "lambda")

:- use_module(library(yall)).

plus_list_(N, L0, L) :- maplist({N}/[X,Y]>>(Y is X + N), L0, L).

?- test( plus_list_(3, [1,2,3], _Result) ).

That’s overkill…

Maybe; but it avoids a certain amount of boilerplate, and makes the code easier to understand.
Functional programmers learn the equivalent of maplist/3, foldl/5, etc. early, and they’re equally useful for logic programming. (And if you’re worried about efficiency, you can use library(apply_macros) instead of library(apply).)

Yes, I know. But I find it cumbersome in Prolog. In Haskell, this would be all that is needed, to define a funktion “repl” which adds one to the elements of a list:

repl = map (+1)

which is equivalent to (with different parameter ordering):

repl n l = map (\x -> x + n) l

is a bit more readable, especially if you want a different parameter ordering (and not all functional languages have currying). Logic programming languages aren’t as compact with functions (because they have to use predicate notation) and it’s a design choice as to whether or not be explicit about the “outer” values:

repl(N,L0,L) :- maplist({N}/[X,Y]>>(Y is X+N),L0,L).
1 Like

That “repl n l = …” of yours, coulde be written this way:

repl n = map (+n)

As far as I’m concerned, I find this shorter notation easier to read.

However, I don’t know this yet:

repl(N,L0,L) :- maplist({N}/[X,Y]>>(Y is X+N),L0,L).