Install/use swi-prolog for C++

I’m new to prolog in C++ (I’ve used the python library before). I have tried to read the documentation, but am pretty lost. I have several questions about the installation and usage of the C++ interface.
(1) How to install swi-prolog? Is there a complete documentation for this?
(2) Is there a simple running example of how to use the prolog interface in C++?

Which OS?

Depends on the OS. For Windows, Mac and Ubuntu it is a common install.

This is still pretty much a work in progress. The best way to keep up on it is to follow the pull request on GitHub.

The “new” C++ API is SWI-cpp2.h is no longer a “work in progress” but is finished. It’s documented here – this might not yet have been refreshed to the very latest, and I need to proof-read it.

Simple examples are in the documentation and also in the files test_cpp.cpp and test_cpp.pl. As @EricGT mentioned, the rocksdb pack is a more complex example: Use more C++ features by kamahen · Pull Request #18 · JanWielemaker/rocksdb · GitHub (I’ve mostly finished modifying the code into a more “natural” C++ style; and I’ve also added some features to the library in the process0>

For Prolog-calling-C++, almost every piece of C functionality has a corresponding piece of C++ functionality. In addition, the C++ API extends the C API by handling C++ exceptions, and by taking advantage of C++'s RAII (Resource Acquisition Is Initialization) to simplify error handling and cleanup. For example, the C++ code for non-deterministic predicates is considerably simpler than the equivalent C code; and the new “blob” interface tries to have suitable defaults for almost everything, so that a “blob” can be defined by just a few lines of boilerplate.