Installing from source on Mac warnings: "dylib was built for newer macOS version"

This is something I haven’t seen before. I am a complete novice at using a Mac (and I am not using it by personal choice…)

When I build from source, I get warnings like this:

[1709/1801] Linking C shared module packages/readline/readline4pl.so
ld: warning: dylib (/usr/local/opt/readline/lib/libreadline.dylib) was built for newer macOS version (11.0) than being linked (10.15.6)
[1720/1801] Linking C shared module packages/archive/archive4pl.so
ld: warning: dylib (/usr/local/opt/libarchive/lib/libarchive.dylib) was built for newer macOS version (11.0) than being linked (10.15.6)
[1724/1801] Linking C shared module packages/ssl/crypto4pl.so
ld: warning: dylib (/usr/local/opt/openssl/lib/libcrypto.dylib) was built for newer macOS version (11.0) than being linked (10.15.6)
[1728/1801] Linking C shared module packages/ssl/ssl4pl.so
ld: warning: dylib (/usr/local/opt/openssl/lib/libssl.dylib) was built for newer macOS version (11.0) than being linked (10.15.6)
ld: warning: dylib (/usr/local/opt/openssl/lib/libcrypto.dylib) was built for newer macOS version (11.0) than being linked (10.15.6)

I use the following script to build:

#!/bin/zsh

git pull \
    && git submodule update --init \
    && mkdir -p build \
    && cd build \
    && cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=$HOME/bin/swipl \
             -DSWIPL_PACKAGES_ODBC=OFF \
             -DSWIPL_PACKAGES_JAVA=OFF \
             -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/usr/local/Cellar/qt/5.15.1/ \
       -G Ninja .. \
    && ninja \
    && ctest -j 8 \
    && ninja install

Should I pay attention to those warnings?

As long as everything works, probably not. Not really sure how to read this warning. To figure it out you’ll have to check the MacOS version running, the Xcode version and the library details in /usr/local/opt/. Seems there is some inconsistency there. Note that after a MacOS upgrade you typically have to update Macports and/or Homebrew.