Resistive circuit calculation

Hello everybody,

i’m quite new to prolog and looking at a practice project:

I came up with different code for paths and calculating row and parallel resitances.

Currently my biggest issue seems to be, how to find out in this grid, or another random grid, if the next resistance is parallel or in row without them being predefined as such, how to save that result to use it in further calculation and how to make use of the split and fusion.

This is what i have sofar:

Currently i seem to be missing an important thought to make it work, and probably some coding skills aswell. Would appreciate any help!

Thanks in advance, kind regards and stay healthy!

So i worked on the code a bit and changed some of it. Here is what i got:

For the algorithm, in this specific example it would work to look at the number of possible paths which is max 2.
If the amount of paths is 1, it has to be serial.
If the amount of paths is 2, the path with 1 more member and its position has to be identified.
For example:
a->d
= P1 = a->b->c->d (a->b->c is a row of serial resistors)
P2 = a->c>d (a->c is paralell to the section of P1)

I am not sure yet how to do the needed operations on those paths.
Another problem is that i was not able to think of a solution to handle bigger circuits with more than two possible paths.

Any ideas would be very welcome

I think you may get more input if you provided a specification of the problem, i.e., given your network model as a list of resistances (resistance=a resistor connecting two nodes), what question are you attempting to answer?

One possibility: Find a single “resistance” which is equivalent to the network.

Presented with this problem, I would try to find two resistances in the list that could be combined (parallel or serial). Then replace the two in the list with their equivalent single resistance and recurse until I was left with a single value.

But maybe that’s not your “question”.