Swipl embedded in R package

Dear developers,

I am trying to connect swipl to R (i.e., invoking swipl from R). Most things are working fine, but there’s a problem with dependencies which is a bit complicated to describe. Also because I am a hobbyist. The problem occurs under linux.

I can consult a simple knowledge base and query it, for example:

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib/swipl/lib/x86_64-linux SWI_HOME=/usr/local/lib/swipl R
library(rolog)
[SWI welcome message]
rolog_consult(“likes”)
rolog_findall(quote(likes(sam))

works fine. This is just to show that I got the basics running. But whenever I want to use a command that relies on a swipl module (e.g., something requiring sgml2pl.so [I think it is html/3]), I get a “symbol not found” for PL_new_atom used in sgml2pl.so.

And, indeed,

matthias@DESKTOP-A2T8IFC:~/swipl-devel/build/packages/sgml$ ldd sgml2pl.so
linux-vdso.so.1 (0x00007ffe489d5000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0 (0x00007fbc9a9e9000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6 (0x00007fbc9a7ff000)
/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007fbc9aa4d000)
matthias@DESKTOP-A2T8IFC:~/swipl-devel/build/packages/sgml$

shows that the object is not linked to libswipl.so. Which makes sense, because it is a “plugin”, so the missing symbols are provided by swipl itself. Unfortunately, I don’t know why the resolution of the missing symbols does not work from the R package.

I found two ways to fix this:

1. Invoke R using the command

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/local/lib/swipl/lib/x86_64-linux/libswipl.so R

But this seems a bit cruel.

1. Less cruel (but who knows):

cd /swipl-devel/build/packages/sgml

VERBOSE=1 make
and then notice that -lswipl is rather early in the linker command: