The 2024 Alain Colmerauer Prize

Organized by the Association for Logic Programming

In the summer of 1972, Alain Colmerauer and his team in Marseille developed and implemented the first version of the logic programming language Prolog. Together with both earlier and later collaborations with Robert Kowalski and his colleagues in Edinburgh, this work laid the practical and theoretical foundations for the Prolog and logic programming of today. Prolog and its related technologies soon became key tools of symbolic programming and Artificial Intelligence.

2022 was celebrated as the Year of Prolog to recognize the 50th anniversary of these events and highlight the continuing significance of Prolog and Logic Programming both for symbolic, explainable AI, and for computing more generally. The celebration inaugurated the ALP Alain Colmerauer Prolog Heritage Prize (in short: the Alain Colmerauer Prize). 2024 marks the third awarding of the Alain Colmerauer Prize.

The Prize is given for recent accomplishments and practical advances in Prolog-inspired computing, understood in a broad sense, where foundational, technological and practical contributions are eligible with proven evidence or potential for the future development of Logic Programming.

The 2024 Award

Nominations are sought for the 2024 edition of the Alain Colmerauer Prize.


Any individual or group of individuals can nominate themselves or their institution(s)/organization(s) for the Prize. Nominations should describe work that meets the purpose of the Prize. Submissions that address the well-being of society or of the planet are especially welcome.


Nominations should explain the contribution and argue for its present and future significance. The submissions must not exceed three pages plus references and may optionally be accompanied by up to two letters of support no longer than 500 words each. Submissions should be made by the candidates themselves, in pdf, through EasyChair at

Selection and award

The Prize is given for depth, novelty, and proven or potential impact. The winner is selected by the Jury from the submitted nominations in consultation with the Executive Committee of the Association for Logic Programming. Furthermore, a shortlist of up to five finalists may also be selected in the process. The Jury will provide a detailed citation that explains the basis of the awarding of the Prize.

The winner receives a certificate and cash support of up to 2,000 Euros for attending the conference and award ceremony. If there are multiple winners, this amount is shared. Finalists also receive certificates.

Timeline for the 2024 award

Deadline for submissions

July 26, 2024.

Notification of the shortlisted candidates

Aug 16, 2024.

Award and presentation of the 2024 Prize

The winner of the 2024 Prize will be announced at the 40th International Conference on Logic Programming (ICLP 2024, Dallas, Texas, 14-17 October 2024).

The 2024 AC Prize Jury (Partial)

David S. Warren (chair), Miguel Calejo, Stefania Costantini, Gopal Gupta, Jan Wielemaker, …