Trying to implement a delete_all/3 relation but it does not terminate in some case

I’m using: SWI-Prolog version 8.2.1

delete_all(X,L1,L2) represent the relation of removing all occurences of X from L1 resulting in L2

list_rem(_,[],[]).
list_rem(Z,[X|Xs],[X|Ys]) :- dif(Z,X), list_rem(Z,Xs,Ys).
list_rem(X,[X|Xs],Ys):- list_rem(X,Xs,Ys).

% list_rem(0,[0,1,2,0],[1,2]). => true
% list_rem(3,[1,2,3,2,3,4],X) => X = [1,2,2,4].
% list_rem(0,X,[1,2]). => does not terminate

Any help will be appreciated, I’m just starting to learn prolog, i have a bit of experience in logic programing with mini-kanren (in clojure).

Since this looks like homework I won’t go into details or even check this suggestion.

See:
library(apply): Apply predicates on a list
Package “list_util” - Predicates for working with lists

If this is not homework let me know and I will add more detail. :grinning:

it is not homework, just curiosity :slight_smile:

Do you need more help or you will let us know?

Thank you for the links and the quick response!
Those libraries look interesting
Maybe I should mention that I would like this predicate to work in both ways
Ideally it would work like delete/3 that can take only variables.
Also maybe I would like to know why it does not terminate in the case I mentioned.
Thank you a lot

Let me take a few minutes to write the code. Don’t know if the reverse way will work as you need it.

While I am writing this, also take a look at SWI-Prolog unit test.

Here is the code that removes the values with unit test.

remove(X,L1,L2) :-
    exclude(remove(X),L1,L2).

remove(X,Element) :-
    X = Element.

:- begin_tests(remove).

remove_test(success,0,[1,2,3],[1,2,3]).
remove_test(success,1,[1,2,3],[2,3]).
remove_test(success,1,[1,1,2],[2]).
remove_test(success,1,[1,2,1],[2]).
remove_test(success,1,[2,1,1],[2]).

test(remove_success,[forall(remove_test(success,X,L1,Expected_result))]) :-
    remove(X,L1,L2),

assertion( L2 == Expected_result ).

:- end_tests(remove).