Windows MIDI interface

I’m looking for a MIDI (Musical Instrument Digital Interface) interface for SWI Prolog. I found one for Mac (plmidi.c), but I 'm running Windows. I also found some MIDI file parsers in Prolog, but I need MIDI messaging and handling.

I don’t need a full implementation of the Windows MIDI interface. I only need to be able to send and receive

• Note On,
  • Note Off,
  • Program Change, and
  • Control Change messages.

Sending and receiving System Exclusive messages is a bonus.

Note that I’m a musician, not a professional programmer.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Welcome to the forum!

I did a search also and only found what you noted, which is from the SWI-Prolog packages.

While others may have better answers, here is something to get you started if nothing better comes along.

Using ChatGPT and the Mac Code asked ChatGPT about converting the Mac specific headers for Windows as a litmus test.

(Click triangle to expand)

ChatGPT August 3 Version
GPT-3.5
Prompt

Convert following C code for Mac to Windows.

```c
#include <mach/mach_time.h>
#include <mach/mach_port.h>
#include <mach/mach_interface.h>
#include <mach/mach_init.h>
#include <CoreMIDI/MIDIServices.h>
#include <IOKit/pwr_mgt/IOPMLib.h>
#include <IOKit/IOMessage.h>
```

Completion

The provided code seems to include headers from macOS-specific frameworks (mach and CoreMIDI) and also includes headers related to IOKit, which is again macOS-specific. These libraries are not available on Windows. Converting this code to Windows would require using equivalent libraries and headers available on the Windows platform.

If you are trying to achieve similar functionality on Windows, you would need to use the appropriate Windows APIs and libraries. For example, for timing-related functionality, you might use the Windows High-Resolution Timer APIs. For MIDI functionality, you would use the Windows Multimedia APIs.

Here’s a rough guide on what you might need to do: