Arguments are not sufficiently instantiated

I’m using: SWI-Prolog version 9.0.4 on Windows 11 64-bit

Rank newbie here, so please be patient!

Having read the Prolog chapter in Seven Languages In Seven Weeks, I’m trying to write a sudoku solver without looking at his code. Like him, I’m starting with a 4x4 puzzle to keep things simple.

To force myself to learn the language better, I decided not to use any built-in Prolog helpers (like fd_all_different and fd_domain that he uses). Instead, I decided to write in_range(List) that checks all these elements in the list are between 1 and 4, and unique(List) that checks that all the elements in List are different. To support that, I also wrote not_in(E, List) that checks that the given element E does not appear in the list List.

My code for these is as follows…

in_range([]).
in_range([H|T]) :- H > 0, H < 5, in_range(T).

not_in(_, []).
not_in(E, [E]) :- false.
not_in(E, [H|T]) :- E =\= H, not_in(E, T).

unique([]).
unique([H|T]) :- not_in(H, T), unique(T).

I tried these out on a few sample lists, and they seem to wrk fine.

I then tried to use them together to solve a puzzle…

sudoku([A1,A2,A3,A4,B1,B2,B3,B4,C1,C2,C3,C4,D1,D2,D3,D4]) :-
  % all numbers have to be between 1 and 4
  in_range([A1,A2,A3,A4,B1,B2,B3,B4,C1,C2,C3,C4,D1,D2,D3,D4]),
  unique([A1,A2,A3,A4]), % row A
  unique([B1,B2,B3,B4]), % row B
  unique([C1,C2,C3,C4]), % row C
  unique([D1,D2,D3,D4]), % row D
  unique([A1,B1,C1,D1]), % col 1
  unique([A2,B2,C2,D2]), % col 2
  unique([A3,B3,C3,D3]), % col 3
  unique([A4,B4,C4,D4]), % col 4
  unique([A1,A2,B1,B2]), % tl square
  unique([A3,A4,B3,B4]), % tr square
  unique([C1,C2,D1,D2]), % bl square
  unique([C3,C4,D3,D4]), % br square
  !.                     % take 1st result

However, this gave an error “Arguments are not sufficiently instantiated.”

I’ve spent quite a bit of time searching, but can’t underatand what I’m doing wrong.