New to prolog, jumped in the deep end trying to solve this weird version of sudoku

Hey guys! Brand new to prolog. I’ve been reading about it for months and finally came across a good problem to put it to the test. I’m a linguistics student and don’t run in many programming circles particularly not logic programming circles so I’d love to talk about what I learned maybe get some feedback. It’s my first bit of practical prolog.

I’d read most of the sudoku examples in my past few months of reading and research then came across this weird sudoku puzzle (I can’t find or remember the origin, I’ve tried). It basically gives you the sum of all the numbers that occur between 1 and 9 in any given column or row, and only 3 number clues to start with, this is the puzzle grid:

[ [_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,4]
, [_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,33]
, [_,_,1,_,_,_,_,_,_,20]
, [_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,17] 
, [_,_,_,_,5,_,_,_,_,26] 
, [_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,10] 
, [_,_,_,_,_,_,9,_,_,16]
, [_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,24]
, [_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,_,0] 
, [8,4,17,35,14,13,3,10,25,0] ],

The last row/column is the sum. (The last entry in the last row is useless, it’s only there because it was easier with a square.)

I’m working on a blog post explaining my journey over the past few weeks from not knowing anything at all, not even how constraints worked (I didn’t even know about dif/2.) To building a solver that used automatons to handle every permutation of the sums at once without backtracking to try different constraints like early solutions attempted to (I think they were logically sound but they blew out the stack every time.) So hopefully that’ll be up soon, (I’ve got to make a blog first, I started writing as a way of rubber duckying because I don’t like talking out loud.) In the mean time (and maybe to learn more before I post) I wanted to talk to actual humans about it a bit.