Hello New Prolog Programmer!

Hello all,

i am a new programmer and i decided to learn i prolog. I find the language fascinating. I hope you do not mind me being around here at all, i might ask some questions. So, hello!

2 Likes

Welcome! a good way to start learning is trying to solve logical puzzles, just google some logical puzzles and choose the easiest one to start.

Welcome! It’s delightful to have you here, and I hope you enjoy learning Prolog! definitely feel free to ask whenever you have questions :smiley:

Thank you! I am following a book on how to program in prolog for beginners. Its a pretty good book so far and I find the language very interesting on how it works so far. I will be doing the practical questions to get the hang of how to write code and define rules.

1 Like

Hi,

Once you have done some practicing, I highly recommend reading Markus Trishka’s online book and his accompanying youtube videos – they were eye opening for me, when i started programming in Prolog in earnest a few years ago.

https://www.metalevel.at/prolog

Dan

1 Like

I wonder if logic puzzles are the best place to start, although they do show off some of the things in Prolog that are much easier than in other programming languages. There are often representation issues that can confuse beginners, and also various termination techniques (e.g., when solving the dog-rabbit-cabbage puzzle, making sure that a position isn’t repeated).

It’s probably more boring to follow one of the texts, but will lead to a quicker understanding of the basics. (Depends on the text of course; some are very good, some have very bad advice.)

1 Like

When i started programming, there were those programming magazines that published code for games and other useful stuff.

One couldn’t simply download them, so i had copied them into my home computer – looking at each line – later i studied programs of others – not puzzles – to learn more.