Good Prolog resources and a good Prolog implementation for a newbie

I’m just starting out with Prolog. Have played a little bit with GNU Prolog and look now for Prolog resources (books, forums, etc). There is a lot on the Internet, so it overwhelms a bit and many sites are pretty old (which in itself is not necessarily means that they are outdated).

However, I found the online book The Power of Prolog which attracts me because it looks reasonably recent…

Through this I got to the implementation Scryer Prolog. So maybe that’s better for beginners than GNU Prolog? And of course there is SWI Prolog as well…

Any tips what are good resources and a good implementation for a newbie?

Hi and welcome!

This is an excellent and easy to understand online book:

And you can try code on Swish in your browser.

Good luck!

/JCR

Also, i highly recommend Markus Trishka’s online book:

https://www.metalevel.at/prolog

There are also some accompanied videos on youtube …

Thanks for chiming in, @JCR!

I had a quick look at the LPN website and the text background always shows on all pages the pretty irritating large words “Testing version”. Is there a URL which shows the book without this background?

1 Like

Yep, The Power of Prolog is “The Power of Prolog”. Looks super cool to me.

They use Scryer Prolog, an “ISO Prolog” like GNU Prolog. - BTW is SWI Prolog an “ISO Prolog” ?

The original is at Learn Prolog Now!. http://lpn.swi-prolog.org is a proxy server that rewrites the pages on the fly to embed SWISH inline. When this was done we settled for this warning. The embedded version is a nice idea, but the HTML of the original makes it raher hard to properly identify source code and examples. Ideally the source should be annotated such that the proxy doesn’t have to guess what is what. Better might be to reformat the material in Spinx-Prolog for creating interactive Prolog books

OMG, No :slight_smile: Although a bit dated, you find why not at SWI-Prolog future directions

1 Like