Help getting started with multithreaded dynamic databases

I’m new to prolog. I think I’ve got the basics down but I’d like a bit
of help to get me started on what I’d like to accomplish.

I’d like a dynamic database over which I execute some goal query
every second. The goal itself has side effects and may assert and
retract over the database. I’d like the goal query to be running as
one process and in another process modify the database.

As a simple example imagine 3 tasks a, b, and c. c requires b to
complete, b requires a, and a has no prerequisites. I’d like to
accomplish task c. Notionally then:

:- dynamic
       aDone/0,
       bDone/0,
       cDone/0.

doC :- bDone, writeln("c is done!"), asserta(cDone), !.   % do c if b is done
doC :- aDone, writeln("b is done"), asserta(bDone), !.   % do c if b is done
doC :- writeln("a is done"), asserta(aDone), !.                % do a

retractall :-                                                                       % create fresh database
    retractall(aDone), retractall(bDone), retractall(cDone).

start :-
    retractall,   % start with no task complete
    repeat,
    doC,
    sleep(1.0),  writeln("done iteration..."),   % poll every 1s 
    fail.

Now, in a separate process, I’d like to intervene on the database,
for example as retract(bDone), retract(cDone), and have doC
automatically redo the b task in order to accomplish c.

I have no experience with threading; is that what I need here, or do I
need pengines? Could someone offer some suggested starting code?

Any help is much appreciated!

1 Like

As much as I want to give an answer, the one you really want to wait to see an answer from is Jan W.

Problem is it is the middle of the night there. :frowning_face:

I do recall a similar question

Solving two consecutive dependent goals from command line