Multi session / multi-tenant web app with SWI-Prolog

Dear community,
I would to operate ski-prolog to offer a scalable multi-tenant web application.
I know swish (very nice). I know about the web service which can be started from an SWI-prolog instance running on a machine. So, I hope I did not oversee any similar case, my question is:

How can a tomcat-like web application service on the base of prolog be configured and operated?

E.g. I imagine a new user,… logging in, then computing a prolog program, then computing another one, and all in his/her web-session-object. On the server side this session bound environment should be handled (tomcat does it for Java applications).

I am new to swi-prolog and all its power. (I am an old c-prolog fan, which after 30 years came back to origins :wink:

Thank you for any hints / advice on this subject
Kind regards

1 Like

Not really sure what you are up to. Possibly Pengines do what you like. They are the underpinning of SWISH, but without the boilerplating. A Pengine is bound to an HTTP session, provides an isolated computational unit (a thread) and privates storage (a temporary module). The storage can contain both data and code (as this is the same in Prolog :slight_smile: )

The new Web Prolog is more or less the same with a better design but less mature.

1 Like

When you - from a browser - open a web application served by a tomcat, the latter creates an application object in memory (could be an instance of prolog) and sends the session string (sessionid) to the browser. The browser with that sessionid interacts with tomcat which keeps upon that sessionid the application object in memory with all the operation done there until now. In case 10 tenants call each that tomcat via resp. the own browser, tomcat will create 10 application objects, and give to the tenant (the user) his/her sessionid. Each interaction is done using the sessionid (standard tomcat) and reaches only the associated application on tomcat side.