Prolog 8.3.2 GUI can not find [likes] source file

Hello, I’m very new to Prolog. I installed SWI-Prolog 8.3.2 for Windows 32 bits without any installation options changed from defaults. Installation is completed. I run program by click on SWI-Prolog icon on Windows Start menu. I try to load likes.pl as described in Tutorials from https://www.swi-prolog.org/pldoc/man?section=quickstart. It seems prolog can not find likes.pl and show error messages.

What can I do to solve this problem ?

However, If I run SWI-Prolog (Console) version. It can find and load likes.pl without any errors.

Thank you.

I think that you have to provide the complete directory specification within square braces (which is a shortcut for the consult command). As an alternative you can load the file by going to the File menu and choose Consult.
Cheers/JC

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. I test your suggestion by type [“c:/Program Files/swipl/demo/likes”]. It works by replies “true.”.

But Console version work fine just type [likes], Does it mean, by default, swipl_win.exe and swipl.exe have different directory for configuration ? and How can I know what is that directory.

When you run swipl_win or swipl try this:

?- pwd.
%<it will print directory here>
3 Likes

In Console version, It is % c:/program files/swipl/

In GUI version, It is % c:/users/sam/documents/prolog/ (sam is user name.) And after I changed directory by type cd("c:/program files/swipl/"). Type [likes]. can work now. :smiley: Thank you.

This guide me next question, How to auto config default directory since start swipl_win.exe ?

While that is actually a valid next question IMHO it is the wrong next question to ask. The reason is that if you want to do more than just simple learning with Prolog you will start to do many different projects. If all of those projects are in the same directory it can cause problems down the road.

As I primarily use SWI-Prolog on Windows here are some of the things that will help you.