SWISH Notebooks: problems updating/not-sharing when logged in

Hello:

I’m new in SWISH and I’m trying to create a private SWISH notebook once I’m logged in (via google e-mail), so I do the following:

• I log in (with the “Login with Google” button).
  • I select “Create Notebook” and write something.
  • I select “File/Save” and then choose a name and check only the “only me” box (I leave unchecked the remaining boxes, in particular the “public” one).

My notebook is saved, but then I find the following problems:

1. I cannot modify my notebook unless giving it a new name even if I’m logged in: I update my notebook and when I try to save it I get the message “Permission denied. Please try a different name”.

2. My file doesn’t seem to be private: if I open SWISH with another browser, without logging in, and search for notebooks, the file I created before appears on the list.

Thanks a lot in advance for your help !!

2 Likes

Sadly, all I can add here is a “me too”. I posted a similar question to
https://swi-prolog.discourse.group/t/problems-saving-swish-notes/1171

I find this is an intermitent problem. Sometimes I start a new notebook and saving updates works fine, othertimes I get the Permission denied. Please try a different name blues.

I also use my Google account to log in, so not sure if that’s related.

Thanks for your answer. You are right, indeed it seems to be an intermitent problem: I tried again and now it works … Regarding log in, I am neither sure it is relevant, but I mentioned it because I first tried without being logged in, and in that case all seemed to work fine (maybe just by chance?)

1 Like