Upgrade Prolog 7.2.3 32 bits to 64 bits on Raspberry Pi?

Hello!

I am a total beginner and I am trying to connect Python and Prolog using PySWIP on a Raspberry Pi 3, Model B. There seems to be an issue since I have installed SWI-Prolog 32 bits, version 7.2.3, whereas Python version 2.7.13 is 64 bits, and these should both be either 32 or 62 bits versions.

I have searched for solutions on whether it is possible to download a newer version of SWI-Prolog (64 bits) on the Raspberry Pi 3, and if so, how to do it.

Any assistance would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Lars

Have you seen?

Building SWI-Prolog for the Raspberry Pi

I have not used this so can’t attest if it worked/works.

Also do a search of the SWI-Prolog documentation, e.g.

Yes, Raspberry 3, Model B, thanks! Yes, I have seen this (and many other articles), but have not managed to understand what is going on. The Raspberry has Linux 9 (Stretch), which should have GCC 6.3.0. When I try to update Prolog I receive the message that I have the newest version (7.2.3+dfsg-6) 32 bits.

Again I have not done this but my understanding is

1. I agree that both Python and SWI-Prolog both need to be at same bit-ness for this to work, either both 64-bit or both 32-bit.
  2. You should be on newer versions of the software. Python 2.x is no longer supported and SWI-Prolog 7.x is so old that everyone will tell you to upgrade to 8.3.x.
  3. You will have to build SWI-Prolog for use with Raspberry Pi. There are no ready to download builds of SWI-Prolog for Raspberry Pi. That is because Raspberry Pi uses ARM processors and there is not a great demand for this variation of SWI-Prolog it is not a standard part of the build and distribute process.

You might also consider creating a Docker image for building this variation. As an example there is GitHub - SWI-Prolog/docker-swipl-build-mingw: Docker to cross-compile SWI-Prolog for Windows. Just modify it for building the Raspberry Pi version.