What's the meaning of the backslash in \[1,2] with pack Markdown?

Hi there! I’m new to prolog and having a lot of fun with it. While working with the markdown library I sometimes get structures using a backslashed-list, like \[1,2], and I’m curious what sort of type this represents. What I found out is that it’s a compound term but not compatible with regular lists. I’ve not had much luck Googling it (maybe because \[ isn’t much of a search term).

If anyone could point me in the right direction I’d super appreciate it! I’m also curious if there’s a function I could have used on a type like this that would have given me a name for it that I could have looked up.

Thank you!

I have never used the pack - markdown so this is a pure guess.

In the documentation is

The specification for the parser was taken from Daring Fireball: Markdown Syntax Documentation (Gruber’s Markdown).

The link notes backslash escapes

However since you did not give a much larger example and one that shows the input and converted output is hard to know if this is correct.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for your help and sorry for not giving a better example! The simplest example I can create is this one:

?- md_parse:md_parse_string("Hi", Blocks).
Blocks = [p([\["Hi"]])].

There’s no special formatting in the input string so the contents get parsed into a paragraph (p) block. That all makes sense to me. Then there’s a list inside the paragraph and the weird escaped list structure inside of that.

The reason I didn’t give a more comprehensive markdown example was because I assumed the backslashed list is a more general concept, not unique to the markdown library. Some investigations in a swipl session that doesn’t import the markdown module:

% It's doesn't look like an atom with an escaped `[` in it, or I could do:
?- append([1], \[2, X).
ERROR: Syntax error: Illegal start of term
ERROR: append([1], \[2,
ERROR: ** here **
ERROR: X) .

% It's not a regular list, else I would be able to append it: