Yfy-pattern

I’m using: SWI-Prolog version (threaded, 64 bits, version 8.0.3).

Can someone explain to me why yfy is not a meaningful pattern for precedence and position of operators?

Need help fast! Thanks.

While I am looking for an authoritative answer think about what it does? Try to explain what it does to someone and where you would use it? See the point?

Im a full on rookie in Prolog so I don’t know much about the patterns. Isn’t it true that x must be strictly lower than the precedence of the operator and y must be the same or lower than the precedence of the operator? If true, that’s the most I know about it. I still can’t explain to myself why yfy wouldn’t work and I can’t come up with an example. I was looking for someone wo explain it to me in layman’s terms by maybe using an example.

I could explain it but not to the point that it would make perfect sense. In other words I know it well enough to satisfy my needs but you would ask more questions about my answer that I would not be able to feel comfortable in responding, thus the reason I am searching for an authoritative answer.

That looks correct.

From the SWI-Prolog documentation for op/3

Type is one of: xf , yf , xfx , xfy , yfx , fy or fx . The‘ f ’indicates the position of the functor, while x and y indicate the position of the arguments.‘ y ’should be interpreted as “on this position a term with precedence lower or equal to the precedence of the functor should occur’'. For‘ x ’the precedence of the argument must be strictly lower. The precedence of a term is 0, unless its principal functor is an operator, in which case the precedence is the precedence of this operator. A term enclosed in parentheses ( ... ) has precedence 0.

Thank you for your answer! I will stick around and wait for an authoritative answer from whoever it may come.

That was not meant to be an answer, just letting you know you are on the right track.