A newbie to Prolog, introducing myself

I am an absolute newbie to Prolog.

I began programming in high school, though lack a formal computer science background.

I have no commercial interest in programming, but do like to tinker.

I possess an innate ability to think deeply about thinking while being able to observe that process as it happens, as well as analyse it later, at will.

I stumbled upon a book on artificial intelligence called “Common Sense, The Turing test, and the quest for real AI” by Mr Hector Levesque which piqued a curiousity in logic-based artificial intelligence research.

I found a set of books on LbAI related methods authored and co-authored by Mr Hector Levesque and found that almost all of them use Prolog for exposition.
I did try to wrap my mind around Prolog, but failed, in fact, I couldn’t understand it at all. It’s completely different from any of the programming languages I’ve used so far.

I have an x86-64 laptop running Ubuntu and have installed the “swi-prolog-x” package to be able to use the GUI toolkit as well as the graphical code-editor & debugger. I have been unable to get the XPCE-based editor running yet, because I don’t know how to.

So, here I am, looking for advice on easing myself into the relational programming style used by Prolog.

Hope this community would not mind questions from me which would seem strange rather than naive. Request you all to understand that I have no intention of trolling.

Thank you.

2 Likes

Welcome.

You might find this of interest.

Useful Prolog references

I can not help with this as I use VSCode on Windows to do the editing but do use the top level to run and debug the code.

There are many others here who do use XPCE for editing and can offer advise.

Once you have a Prolog file (e.g. myfile.pl), run this to load the file and edit it.

swipl myfile.pl
?- edit.