Visual Learning Environment

Hi.

I’m creating an AI-supported visual learning environment SPA for a coaching environment. Here’s the tech I think I need:

• Frontend — D3 for multi-mode graph visualization, interaction, and editing (yFiles is too much car at this point)

• Web Server/Backend — SWI-Prolog for content, inference, OWL API-like ontology-esque management, and display logic via WebSockets (not imagining I can or should run Prolog in the browser)

I have used yWorks’ yEd for prototyping.

I’m not a hotshot programmer. Most of my IT life has been spent as a standard relational-model DBA and ad hoc database designer. As a lightly-clad, rather timid mountaineer, I will have to learn the tools and how they work together as I go.

Any thoughts and questions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

1 Like

For a fee or lunch or something else, I’d appreciate a coach.

First off welcome to SWI-Prolog and to this forum.

It is not that we don’t want to help but for me personally based on just the question I see that it could take up a few hours of my time each week because there is a big gap between what you indicate you know and what you need to know.

Another bit of warning I will give is that since Prolog lets one solve problems in so many different ways and many here will have a preferred way of solving problems you will get answers that don’t work together or that when trying to understand this can take months because those that gave the answer may have left out some information that is needed, to them it is obvious but to others it is not. I don’t fault anyone for this because I too am just as guilty.

When I tried to learn to use DCGs with SWI-Prolog it took me several months to understand them, the details are in a post here somewhere, but it was very frustrating and that is a common type of scenario that makes many just give up on Prolog.

So to start with I would suggest taking a few weeks to months and work through a book or two from the classics.