Why in 2020 should I learn Prolog?

First of all Good Night!!!

Please consider answer, this is not a criticism nor a provocation, but just a question of a young person how want find a truly and good answer

With all respect I was insanely searching on the web, why in 2020 should I learn Prolog?

I’m going to give you my personal characteristics believing that this matters in the context of the question.

I’m 20 years old, I’m Brazilian, I’m graduating in mathematics for one public university here, I’m new in computer science and I have learned major part of what I know, alone and first of all I like programming in Prolog.

I had a little experience in the language, I had worked with pengines for a web application but in a personal project. But here is my point of view, if you could help me, sometimes I feel that learn prolog can be a waste of time, I don’t see jobs around here or out there using Prolog programming Language, I would like to see someone trying to convince me that it isn’t a waste of and technically showing the reasons.

I had just made this question because as I said I was insanely searching in the web, but all I had found was negative perspective of the language, you guys are my last hope.

Now I had start to learn Python and i don’t know but a lot of features appear to come from prolog is this right?

2 Likes

You should learn it as a part of your personal quest to become a better programmer.

From where I stand, I see two major problems with learning a programming language like Prolog for purely pragmatic reasons:

1. It will not help you find a job, in the general case. This is not universally true, however, if you can claim that you can program in Javascript/Python/Java/C++, you already cover some 90% of programming jobs that are out there (those languages and the 90% is totally pulled out of thin air, I do not have data to back it up).